《心灵之旅:中华现代主义与新加坡水墨画》 | Singaporeccc.org.sg

Singapore Arts Week 2020 – ”The Journey of Minds: Chinese Modernity and Chinese Ink-Painting in Singapore” – Talk by Dr. Woo Fook Wah

Singapore Arts Week 2020 – ”The Journey of Minds: Chinese Modernity and Chinese Ink-Painting in Singapore” – Talk by Dr. Woo Fook Wah - 精彩节目 | 新加坡华族文化中心

talk-by-dr-woo-copy-2
呈献 : 新加坡华族文化中心,新加坡艺术周2020

Singapore Arts Week 2020 – ”The Journey of Minds: Chinese Modernity and Chinese Ink-Painting in Singapore” – Talk by Dr. Woo Fook Wah

《心灵之旅:中华现代主义与新加坡水墨画》探讨新加坡现代视觉艺术的历程。中国清朝灭亡后,许多学者和艺术家纷纷离开祖国到海外发展。当时的新加坡是著名的中转站,吸引力大量的中国移民,吸收了许多中国艺术家的学术知识。

第二次世界大战前,新加坡美术界已深具活力,战后更是蓬勃发展。来自中国的新移民画家落地生根,热情分享它们的美术知识的同时也积极探索这个叫做“南洋”的新环境。

光阴荏苒,新加坡的美术历程吸取这个独特城市国家多元种族和多元文化的特点,渐渐地产生了崭新风格的水墨画作品。本讲座要专门探讨的是,本地创新的水墨画,可否具体归纳为新加坡流派水墨画?

演讲者简介:

胡福华博士于2003年起,在黄树良的指导下从事油画创作。2008年,他们和友人于巴斯卡艺术学院(Baskar Art Academy)举办《独一无二小印度》(Uniquely Little India)艺术展。随后,胡福华加入新加坡艺术协会成为终身会员,并且到伦敦大学金史密斯学院(University of London, Goldsmith College)深造,考获亚洲艺术史硕士学位。自此,他开始艺术评论和艺术历史写作人的生涯,也负责策展《国民服艺NS50》和《新加坡开埠200周年暨新加坡艺术协会70周年画展》。胡福华收藏艺术作品,追求理解艺术和超越审美,并希望能与国内外人士分享心得。

活动日期与时间

2020 年, 1月 18

上午10时至11时

地点

新加坡华族文化中心钟声坚演奏室, 六楼

语言

英文

Ongoing Events

sccc-toc-edm-5-02-2
2022 年, 7月 30 - 2022 年, 7月 30

会馆精粹展 – 石头绘画工作坊

一场为你介绍“石头绘画”的工作坊。尽情挥洒你的创意,亲手在石头上绘制!每位参与者将能把绘制好的石头带…

工作坊
sccc-toc-edm-4-02-2
2022 年, 7月 16 - 2022 年, 7月 16

会馆精粹展 – 书法木雕工作坊

一场由杨昌泰老师和谢翰林老师主持的书法木雕工作坊。前来参与并感受这项新加坡非物质文化遗产。现场向老师…

工作坊
sccc-edm-julyb-02-2
2022 年, 7月 16 - 2022 年, 7月 16

新学说:新加坡华族文化中心研究资助金讲座系列

女性现代化的自我形塑:早期华人照相馆镜头下的华族女性 过去的华族女性照片,体现了她们走向现代化的精神…

讲座/研讨会
free tag Free

slide happening
ORGANISED BY: Singapore Chinese Cultural Centre, Singapore Art Week

Singapore Arts Week 2020 – ”The Journey of Minds: Chinese Modernity and Chinese Ink-Painting in Singapore” – Talk by Dr. Woo Fook Wah

 “The Journey of Minds: Chinese Modernity and Chinese Ink-Painting in Singapore” traces the journey of modern visual arts in Singapore. After the fall of the Qing dynasty, the need for renewal had triggered many Chinese scholars including artists to travel abroad in search for modernity that could be appropriate for the, then newly liberated China. Singapore, being a popular transit point and having a large Chinese migrant population, benefited from the knowledge that the artists had acquired.

The art scene in Singapore was vibrant even before the second world war. After the War, the art practice in Singapore was further developed. We have new migrant artists from China that had made Singapore their homes and they were enthusiastically sharing their knowledge while they explored their new surroundings, which they called Nanyang.

As time passes, Singapore began to take a journey of its own as artists began to further develop the ideas that this unique city-state offered with its multi-racial and multi-cultural outlooks. The research discovered that a new oeuvre of art-works in Chinese-ink genre seemed to have emerged. Hence, the focus was directed to look at examples of this innovation and asking if this oeuvre of artworks can be considered in specific as Singapore Chinese-Ink Paintings.

About the Speaker:

Dr. Woo Fook Wah’s interest in art got him to begin painting in oil from 2003 under the instruction of Wee Shoo Leong. Together with friends, they organized an art exhibition at Baskar Art Academy entitled “Uniquely Little India” in 2008. That interest led him to join the Singapore Art Society as a life member. The art interest intensified and he went on to study art history and was awarded a Master of Art in Asian Art Histories by the University of London, Goldsmith College. He began writing as an Art critic/historian. He also curated the NS 50 Art Exhibition and the Singapore Bicentennial cum Singapore Art Society 70 Years Anniversary Art Exhibition. He also maintains a collection of artworks and aspires to understand and enjoy art beyond just the aesthetic aspect and hope that he can share that enjoyment with others at home and abroad.

Event Date & Time

Jan 18, 2020

10am – 11am

Venue

SCCC Zhong Sheng Jian Recital Studio, Level 6

Event Language

English

Ongoing Events

slider1
Jan 31, 2021

Nam Hwa Blazes: The…

“Nam Hwa Blazes: The New Waves” is a variety show consisting of classic Teochew opera…

Concert Venue Partner
slider1
Jan 22, 2021 - Mar 28, 2021

Moo Moo PARK

Look forward to immersive experiences at Moo Moo PARK—Asia’s First Drive-Through Exhibition! Come January, the…

Exhibition
slider1
Jan 15, 2021 - Feb 28, 2021

All Walks of Love

What is love? Find, and ‘gram, your answers to this timeless question at the visually-stunning…

Exhibition