线上压轴演唱会 年仅17岁学生勇夺“最佳歌曲奖”和“优异作词奖”

【SG:SW 2021 我写我的歌】线上压轴演唱会 年仅17岁学生勇夺“最佳歌曲奖”和“优异作词奖”

【SG:SW 2021 我写我的歌】线上压轴演唱会 年仅17岁学生勇夺“最佳歌曲奖”和“优异作词奖” - 新加坡华族文化中心

【SG:SW 2021 我写我的歌】线上压轴演唱会 年仅17岁学生勇夺“最佳歌曲奖”和“优异作词奖”

group-photo-300x110

经过四个月的严密培训和筛选,由新加坡词曲版权协会 (COMPASS),新加坡华族文化中心 (SCCC) 与海蝶音乐联合主办的第五届【SG:SW 我写我的歌】中文歌曲创作节昨晚于新加坡华族文化中心远东机构表演厅展开10强争辉之夜。主宾由国家发展部兼外交部高级政务部长沈颖担任。由17岁的白欣平创作词曲的《我带您去看海了》成为双料得主,勇夺“最佳歌曲奖”和“优异作词奖”。

jayne-peh-300x200

 

(照片:《我带您去看海了》词曲作者白欣平 )

评审团一致对白欣平的作品和创作能力十分赞赏。 台湾资深音乐制作人兼作词人丁晓雯老师说,“这首歌不管从歌词、歌曲、编曲——各部分听起来好像很简单,但整体合在一起非常完整,它一点都不简单。尤其是编曲的氛围从一开始是很小品的,像是在阴天飘着小雨的海边,但一路上编曲一直在慢慢地堆叠,增加层次感,变得非常广阔,像一个人奔跑在大海边的感觉。我觉得这个画面感很震撼,也很感动,我也差点哭了……我希望有一天看到你在音乐界发光发热。”

新加坡文化(音乐)得主梁文福博士也说,“好歌有很多种,但不是很多好歌会给人有诗意的感觉。这首歌一听就有。我觉得有时候一个创作人的珍贵,在他/她最初最真的时候是看得出来的……我希望日后听到你写更多这种珍贵的作品。”

从发表会到大师班,白欣平的作品一直深受好评。她在作品中运用了三种语言(华语、英语和闽南语)来表达对已逝亲人的思念,在最终版本中听取了两位导师的建议,重新为副歌填词;修饰了闽南语中常见的“倒音”问题,也重新设计了歌曲的结尾,让歌曲旋律更为深刻。

今年的【SG:SW 2021】有更多年轻创作者参加的趋势 

今年,共有三个得奖作品的创作者都不超过19岁。本届音乐节也喜见更多得奖作品融入了新加坡文化特色和语言。这或许是因为年轻一代近年来对自身文化更感兴趣,更引以为傲。

今年的【SG:SW 2021】出现更多年轻创作者参赛的趋势,众多参加者中有几乎40% 的创作者都是25岁以下,比去年的33%和前年的36%来得多。而晋级10强的作品中,有五首歌曲的创作者仅17或18岁。创作节的常驻导师,海蝶音乐总监吴剑泓在《线上公开发表会》为20首作品的表现做总结时表示,“今年【SG:SW】继续在疫情下举办,参赛者一如既往般踊跃投稿,令人鼓舞的是参赛的词曲作者当中,00后的青少年朋友们所占比例越来越大,作品质量也相当高,不乏优秀且令人惊艳的新生代创意,让人期待!”

【SG:SW 2021】今年一共收到306首作品,参赛的创作者为266位。今年的作品总数虽然稍少于去年的322首,但创作者总数比去年的261位来得多。创作者们也来自各行各业,如 学生 、律师、科学家、工程师等等。晋级10强的作品题材也相当多元,其中包括网卖、网瘾少女、天文学、关注自闭。

《爱情逃兵》夺下“新加坡华族文化中心跨乐奖

“最佳演唱奖”首次颁发给马来族演唱者

yohannis_jian-xing

(照片:《爱情逃兵》作词人:郑建兴 作曲人:郑建兴、Yohannis Binte Kasmani)

《爱情逃兵》的创作者们昨晚满载而归,不但拿下“新加坡华族文化中心跨乐奖”,作词人之一兼演唱者Yohannis Binte Kasmani也喜获“最佳演唱奖”。郑建兴是这首歌的创作人兼编曲人。

yohannis_stage

(照片:Yohannis Binte Kasmani表演《爱情逃兵》)

Yohannis稳健的台风、成熟细腻的演绎,让全场观众和评审团感到惊艳,也不禁让人想起数年前参加中国歌唱选拔赛而崛起的Shila Amzah。Yohannis没有因为语言屏障而丝毫影响她诠释中文歌曲;靠着汉语拼音一字一句学习发音的她,将歌曲演绎得淋漓尽致,情感渲染力十足。

说到和Yohannis是如何认识,原来是创作人郑建兴偶然在Tik Tok上发起Duets挑战时听到Yohannis的演唱而一“听”如故,立刻锁定了心目中最适合演唱这首作品的演唱者。也因Yohannis是马来族同胞,建兴于是顺水推舟,邀请Yohannis翻译部分填词。他也在《线上压轴演唱会》的演出中精心加入了印度传统打击乐器塔布拉 (Tabla),使作品的多元种族元素更丰富和强烈。

对于这首作品,评审们曾在《线上公开发表会》上提到,Yohannis的演唱和填写的马来文歌词,都为作品加分。

相较以往的得奖作品,这次的跨文化合作擦出了不一样的火花,为大家带来耳目一新的惊喜!

《网瘾少女》获得“优异作曲奖”

timo-tan

(照片:《网瘾少女》词曲作者 陈祉豪)

有别于一般的刻板印象,歌曲中沉迷于游戏的网瘾不是男生,而是女生,让人不禁对这首由陈祉豪作词曲的饶舌歌曲产生更强烈的兴趣与好奇心。导师们在大师班时也提及这首歌的主题有惊喜,能让听众有更深刻的印象。

梁文福博士也认为该曲让整首歌注入了意想不到的活力和个性。他说,“在纸上看这个文字时,我觉得它没有特别精彩。可是如果是立体的表演,我是相当享受整个故事。”

 扮“卖鱼哥”《老板不在(乱乱卖)

罗戊钧再度成功打造洗脑歌 获得“最佳演奖”

morgan-law

(照片:《老板不在(乱乱卖)》词曲作者 罗戊钧)

由罗戊钧作词、曲和演唱的电音搞怪舞曲《老板不在(乱乱卖)》是关于因新冠疫情而兴起的“网卖”潮。歌中还提及了新马直播网卖红人“卖鱼哥”,让歌曲更有共鸣。创作者兼演唱人更精心装扮以“卖鱼哥”的经典造型亮相献唱。罗戊钧也是去年“最佳演唱奖”的得主。

morgan-law_stage

(照片:罗戊钧表演《老板不在(乱乱卖)》)

而由18岁的孙文琦作词曲的《天文哲理》则以高票获得百分百由网络投选出的“最高人气奖”。

sng-wenqi

(照片:《天文哲理》词曲作者 孙文琦)

《线上压轴演唱会》的评审团队

昨晚的10强争辉之夜邀请到五位华语乐坛殿堂级音乐大师 ———— 新加坡文化(音

乐)得主梁文福博士、新加坡资深音乐制作人兼海蝶音乐音乐总监吴剑泓、新加坡知名全能音乐人林倛玉、新加坡著名创作歌手兼音乐人黎沸挥及台湾资深音乐制作人兼作词人丁晓雯为角逐七大奖项的终极10强点评作品。

因为新冠疫情,【SG:SW 2021】再度以线下现场观看和线上直播的混合形式,以扩大观众人数。线上形式也让远在台湾的丁晓雯通过视讯会议为《线上压轴演唱会》的作品点评。

铃凯和文慧如担任今年的特别表演嘉宾

本地双语创作歌手兼SG:SW 2021 线上大使铃凯及本地唱作才女文慧如也通过预录

表演展现精湛歌艺,把线上压轴演唱会的气氛推向高潮。

SG:SW  2021 得奖名单:

最佳歌曲奖:《我带您去看海了》

优异作曲奖:《网瘾少女》

优异作词奖:《我带您去看海了》

最高人气奖(100% 由网络投选定夺):《天文哲理》

最佳演唱奖:《爱情逃兵》

最佳演奏奖:《老板不在(乱乱卖)》

新加坡华族文化中心跨乐奖:《爱情逃兵》

 

SG:SW 2021 我写我的歌】线上压轴演唱会

日期        :2021年10月 29日(星期五)

时间        :晚上7时

直播页面    :SG:SW 2021新加坡华族文化中心官方脸书页面

表演嘉宾    :铃凯 & 文慧如

节目主持    :陈宁 & 高美贵 (YES 933 DJ)

关于 【SG:SW 2021 我写我的歌】中文歌曲创作节 线上版

官方网站:  https://sgsw.sg/
Facebook:      http://facebook.com/SGSWFest
Instagram:     https://www.instagram.com/sgswfest

 

credit-300x168


 

附录 【SG:SW 2021 我写我的歌】活动跟进

 【线上公开发表会】(两场演出于9月4日和5日举行)

 

为晋级20强创作者提供发表平台的《线上公开发表会》,今年呈现的作品曲风多元、表演水平颇高。发表会的导师们包括吴剑泓、铃凯、玖健、张思尔和谭志华 。

今年的《线上公开发表会》邀来本地创作歌手魏妙如和本地中文原创乐团NEKO Highway猫速公路担任特别表演嘉宾。她们不但献上感染力十足的演唱,也分享了 他们在音乐创作方面的心得。两场《线上公开发表会》成功吸引近3.5万点击率。

 

ruth-kueo

(照片:新加坡创作歌手 魏妙如)

neko-highway

(照片:新加坡中文原创乐团NEKO Highway猫速公路)

【线上创作大师班】(两场大师班于91819日举行)

《线上公开发表会》结束后,脱颖而出的10首优秀作品的创作者将有机会参与由两位音乐大师——台湾资深音乐制作人兼作词人丁晓雯和新加坡著名创作歌手兼音乐人黎沸挥授课的《线上创作大师班》,同时获得由两位大师分析讲评个别作品的机会。在听取老师们的意见后,创作者们可选择修改他们的作品,并在《线上压轴演唱会》上呈现最终作品。

终极10强作品的创作曲风方面也别出心裁,不仅有催泪情歌、轻快饶舌歌曲、摇滚芭乐歌曲,还有轻快俏皮的舞曲,绝对值得期待!

《线上公开发表会》结束后,脱颖而出的10首优秀作品的创作者将有机会参与由两

位音乐大师——台湾资深音乐制作人兼作词人丁晓雯和新加坡著名创作歌手兼音乐人黎沸挥

授课的《线上创作大师班》,同时获得由两位大师分析讲评个别作品的机会。在听取老师们的意见后,创作者们可选择修改他们的作品,并在《线上压轴演唱会》上呈现最终作品。

终极10强作品的创作曲风方面也别出心裁,不仅有催泪情歌、轻快饶舌歌曲、摇滚芭乐歌曲,还有轻快俏皮的舞曲,绝对值得期待!

masterclass

(照片:丁晓雯老师与晋级作品创作者的线上合照)

masterclass

(照片:黎沸挥老师与晋级作品创作者的线上合照)

 

 

SCCC

新加坡华族文化贡献奖

中心举办的年度奖项

艺术支持框架

与中心合作

SCCC
SCCC

捐献与义工

了解如何支持新加坡华族文化

“SG:SW I Write The Songs” Online Finale Concert 17-year-old student wins Best Song Award and Lyrics (Merit) Award

“SG:SW I Write The Songs” Online Finale Concert 17-year-old student wins Best Song Award and Lyrics (Merit) Award - Singapore Chinese Cultural Centre

“SG:SW I Write The Songs” Online Finale Concert 17-year-old student wins Best Song Award and Lyrics (Merit) Award

group photo

After four months of mentorship and shortlisting, the fifth edition of ‘SG:SW I Write The Songs’ Songwriting Festival, organised by Composers & Authors Society of Singapore (COMPASS), Singapore Chinese Cultural Centre (SCCC), and Ocean Butterflies Music,  returned with an Online Finale Concert where the Top 10 finalists took the stage at the Singapore Chinese Cultural Centre Far East Organization Auditorium last night, graced by special guest, Sim Ann, Senior Minister of State in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Ministry of National Development. The song To Sea《我带您去看海了》composed by 17 year-old Jayne Peh won not just one but two awards this year, namely for Best Song Award and Lyrics (Merit) Award.

jayne peh

(Photo: To Sea, Melody and Lyrics by Jayne Peh)

Commenting on Jayne’s work after her performance at the Online Finale Concert, renowned Taiwanese producer-songwriter Rachel Ting said, ”The lyrics, melody and arrangement sounded simple but were well-integrated when put together. To be able to do this is not simple at all. The arrangement transitioned from simple to complex, creating a strong imagery that was very powerful and touching. I almost cried…  I hope to see you shine in the music industry one day. ”

Cultural Medallion Award Recipient Dr Liang Wern Fook also commented that “There are many good songs out there, but not many are poetic. This song is just that. I sometimes feel that the unique and precious quality of songwriters can be seen at the beginning of their career when they are at their purest…I hope that you will always remember your most original style, and hear more of your works in the future. ”

Even during the Online Live Showcases and Online Masterclasses, her composition had won praises. The lyrics were also written in Chinese, English and Hokkien to express the feelings of missing of a loved one who has passed on. In the final version, Jayne took the mentors’ (Rachel Ting and Roy Li) advice and rewrote the lyrics of the chorus. She also refined the rhyming of the Hokkien lyrics and revised the melody so that the song’s ending was more impactful.

SG:SW 2021 attracted a younger pool of songwriters

This year, three out of seven awards were swept by songwriters under 19 years of age. It has also been heartening to see more winning entries integrating Singapore’s distinctive cultural elements and languages in their compositions.

This year’s “SG:SW 2021” attracted more young songwriters, with almost 40% of the participants under 25 years of age, which is higher than the 33% last year and 36% the year before. Five of the top 10 finalists are  17 or 18 years old. While concluding the performances of the Top 20 song entries during the ‘Online Live Showcase’, Zennon Goh, Resident Judge of the festival and Music Director of OB Music, expressed that, “This year, “SG:SW I Write The Songs” has continued despite the pandemic and we continue to see unwavering participation from songwriters. It is heartening to see more post-2000s young songwriting talents submitting high-quality works. With such commendable works. we can look forward to more exemplary works from the younger generation in the future!”

“SG:SW 2021” has received 306 entries this year from 226 participating songwriter. Although the total number of entries this year is slightly less than last year’s 322 songs, the number of participating songwriters has increased (compared to 261 participants from last year). The songwriters come from all walks of life, including students, lawyers, scientists and engineers. The themes of the final ten compositions were diverse and included commentary on livestream sales, addiction to video games, astrology, autistic children and a reinterpreting of xinyao incorporating kopitiam culture.

Love Deserter clinched Singapore Chinese Cultural Centre Xchange Award

First Malay singer to win the Best Vocal Performance Award

yohannis_jian xing

(Photo: Love Deserter, Melody by Ti Kiang Heng, lyrics by Ti Kiang Heng and Yohannis Binte Kasmani)

Love Deserter  scored a double win last night with the Singapore Chinese Cultural Centre Xchange Award and Best Vocal Performance Award. The latter was won by a Malay vocalist for the first time, Yohannis Binte Kasmani, who also co-wrote the lyrics with the songwriter Ti Kiang Heng.

yohannis_stage

(Photo: Yohannis Binte Kasmani performing Love Deserter)

Yohannis’ confident stage presence and delicate performance wowed both audience and judges alike. She reminded many of Shila Amzah who participated in a Chinese singing competition in China several years ago, and whose singing career has since taken off. Language barriers did not affect Yohannis’ ability to give a breath-taking rendition of the song which had mainly Chinese lyrics. Having memorised the lyrics with the help of hanyu pinyin, she gave a masterful and captivating performance.

How was Yohannis discovered? Her teammate Ti Kiang Heng chanced upon her singing video when she took up a Duets challenge that he had posted on Tik Tok. He knew immediately that she was the most suitable singer to perform the song. Since Yohannis was Malay, Kiang Heng took the opportunity to invite her to translate some lyrics into Malay, so that the work could be eligible for the Singapore Chinese Cultural Centre Xchange Award. Kiang Heng later also incorporated Indian tabla accompaniment to enrich the multi-cultural flavour of the song.

During the Online Live Showcases, the judges had commended Yohannis’s performance and that Malay lyrics has enhanced to the song.

Compared with the previous SCCC Xchange Award winning songs, this cross-cultural collaboration is a fresh approach and has created a different spark!

 

Game Addicted Girl clinched the Melody (Merit) Award

timo tan

(Photo: Game Addicted Girl, Melody and Lyrics by Timo Tan)

Game Addicted Girl challenged the stereotype that only guys get addicted to gaming. This twist drew listeners’ interest to the rap song composed by Timo Tan. The mentors also mentioned that the chosen theme had an element of surprise and left a deeper impression on listeners.

Dr Liang Wern Fook thought that the music had injected more energy and personality into the song, even though the lyrics seemed ordinary. As a result, he enjoyed listening to the song’s narrative during the performance.

 

Boss Not Around  won Best Performing Band Award

Songwriter Morgan Law returns with second catchy song

morgan law 

(Photo: Boss Not Around,  Melody and Lyrics by Morgan Law)

An electronic dance-song with melody and lyrics by Morgan Law, Boss Not Around highlighted the livestream sales that erupted during the pandemic. The song was made even more engaging by referring to the local getai performer-turned-livestream salesman “Fishmonger Bro”(卖鱼哥), which made the song even more relatable. Morgan also performed the song dressed up as “Fishmonger Bro”.

morgan law_stage

(Photo: Morgan Law performing Boss Not Around)

18 year-old Sng Wenqi’s Astrology won the Popularity Award with the highest number of online votes.

sng wenqi

(Photo: Astrology, Melody and Lyrics by Sng Wenqi)

Judging Panel of ‘Online Finale Concert’

Last night’s Online Finale Concert was graced by five top-notch industry professionals, comprising Cultural Medallion Award recipient Dr Liang Wern Fook, music producer and music director of OB Music Zennon Goh, singer-songwriter Jim Lim, producer Roy Li as well as renowned Taiwanese producer-songwriter Rachel Ting. The panel of judges selected seven winners from the Top 10 entries.

The second hybrid format of ‘SG:SW 2021’ enabled the festival to reach out to both local and overseas audiences. The online livestreaming format also made it possible for Rachel Ting to join the panel of the judges during the “Online Finale Concert” through video conferencing in Taiwan.

Ling Kai and Boon Hui Lu as Guest Performers

Bilingual local singer-songwriter Ling Kai, who is also SG:SW 2021’s Online Ambassador, and local singer-songwriter Boon Hui Lu also delivered superb live performances through livestreaming which hyped up the atmosphere of the ‘Online Finale Concert’.

 

SG:SW  2021 award recipients:

Best Song Award: To Sea

Melody (Merit) Award: Game Addicted Girl

Lyrics (Merit) Award: To Sea

Popularity Award (100% Public Voting): Astrology

Best Vocal Performance Award: Love Deserter

Best Performing Band Award: Boss Not Around

Singapore Chinese Cultural Xchange Award: Love Deserter

 

 

 SG:SW I Write The Songs Online Finale Concert

Date                   : 29 October 2021 (Friday)

Time                   : 7:00PM

Platform             : SG:SW 2021 and Singapore Chinese Cultural Centre Facebook Page

Guest Artistes    : Ling Kai & Boon Hui Lu

Hosts                 : Chen Ning & Gao Meigui (YES 933 DJ)

 

About SG:SW 2021 I Write The Songs Mandopop Songwriting Festival Online Edition

Website:         https://sgsw.sg/

Facebook:      http://facebook.com/SGSWFest

Instagram:     https://www.instagram.com/sgswfest/

credit

 

 


Annex – SG:SW 2021 I Write The SongsEvent Follow up

Online Live Showcase (2 shows held on September 4 and 5)

The ‘Online Live Showcase’ was a platform for the Top 20 songwriters to showcase their works. This year’s entries were diverse in nature and standards were high. The judging panel included renowned music practitioners Zennon Goh, Ling Kai, Jiu Jian, Zhang Si’er and Derrick Tham.

 

Local singer-songwriter Ruth Kueo and Mandarin band NEKO Highway also graced ‘Online Live Showcase’ as special guests. They put up stellar performances and shared their first-hand experiences as singer-songwriters in the industry. The two ‘Online Live Showcases’ attracted over 30,000 views.

ruth kueo

(Photo: Singapore singer-songwriter Ruth Kueo)

neko highway

(Photo: Singapore Mandarin original band NEKO Highway)

 

Online Masterclass (2 Masterclasses held on September 18 and 19)

After the ‘Online Live Showcase’, the songwriters of the Top 10 entries had the opportunity to attend ‘Online Masterclasses’ by renowned Taiwanese producer-songwriter Rachel Ting and singer-songwriter and producer Roy Li where their works were critiqued for further improvement. With the tips and knowledge gained from the ‘Online Masterclasses’, the participating songwriters then improved on their songs and presented the final versions at the ‘Online Finale Concert’.

Whether tear-jerking ballad, rap, rock and roll or dance tunes, the musical genres across the Top 10 finalists were distinct and diverse!

masterclass

(Photo: Mentor Rachel Ting with the songwriters of the Top 10 entries)

 

masterclass_2

(Photo: Mentor Roy Li with the songwriters of the Top 10 entries)

 

 

SCCC

Singapore Chinese Cultural Contribution Awards

Learn about our annual awards

Arts Support Framework

Collaborate with us today

SCCC
SCCC

Donations & Volunteers

Find out how to support Chinese culture in Singapore