Media Room

Singapore Chinese Cultural Contribution Award Launches its 4th Edition with Public Call for Nominations led by New Chairman of Judging Committee Professor Eddie Kuo

Singapore Chinese Cultural Contribution Award Launches its 4th Edition with Public Call for Nominations led by New Chairman of Judging Committee Professor Eddie Kuo

Singapore, 2 September 2019 – Conferred by the Singapore Chinese Cultural Centre, the Singapore Chinese Cultural Contribution Award (SCCCA) returns in its fourth edition to recognise cultural stalwarts who have made significant contributions in the promotion, enrichment and development of Singapore Chinese culture. There will be two award recipients – one each for the individual and organisation categories. There will be a cash prize of $10,000 for both categories, and project funding of $10,000 and $20,000 for the individual and organisation awardees respectively. The project funding for organisation category will be increased from $10,000 to $20,000.


This year’s edition welcomes Professor Eddie Kuo Chen Yu as Chairman of the SCCCA judging committee, as he takes over the reins from veteran architect Mr Liu Thai Ker who had helmed the committee since the award’s inception in 2017. A distinguished academic, Professor Kuo is Founding Dean and Professor Emeritus of Wee Kim Wee School of Communication and Information of NTU, Academic Advisor, Singapore University of Social Sciences (SUSS), and Advisor, SUSS Centre for Chinese Studies.


Professor Kuo said, “There have been so many individuals and organisations working hard to promote our Singapore Chinese culture in their various fields, and their efforts deserve recognition. With the SCCCA entering its fourth edition, we hope that more will come forward to nominate such cultural champions. This will not only give recognition to their outstanding contributions, but also encourage all who are similarly committed and devoted.”


Besides Professor Eddie Kuo, the judging committee comprises Mr Hee Theng Fong, Associate Professor Quah Sy Ren, Mr Lim Jim Koon, Ms Woo Mun Ngan, and Ms Quek Yeng Yeng. Together, they will evaluate the nominations based on various criteria including dedication and recognition in the field, cultural promotions efforts, transmission of tradition, as well as innovations and breakthroughs. Nominations may come from various cultural fields such as Arts, Heritage, Popular Culture and Creative Design.


Past individual award recipients include Mr Han Lao Da, recognised for his tireless dedication in the promotion of crosstalk in Singapore; choral composer Mr Lee Yuk Chuan, who was instrumental in expanding Singapore’s musical footprint abroad; and Mr Kua Bak Lim, an eminent local historian with a strong passion for the heritage of the local Chinese community.


For the organisation category, the Centre recognised Siong Leng Musical Association for its rejuvenation of Nanyin and Liyuan opera in Singapore; the Singapore Association of Writers for its relentless efforts in introducing local Chinese literature to youths, and fostering exchange between distinguished local and international Chinese writers; and Ding Yi Music Company, for its promotion of Chinese chamber music in Singapore.


The Award is open to all living Singapore citizens, permanent residents, and Singapore-registered non-commercial organisations. The closing date for submission of nominations is 30 November 2019. Interested individuals and organisations must complete and submit their nomination forms to the Singapore Chinese Cultural Centre.


Singapore Chinese Cultural Contribution Awards

Learn about our annual awards

Arts Support Framework

Collaborate with us today


Donations & Volunteers

Find out how to support Chinese culture in Singapore