塑造新加坡华族文化的五大因素 | Singapore Chinese Cultural Centre

塑造新加坡华族文化的五大因素

塑造新加坡华族文化的五大因素 - 新加坡华族文化中心

塑造新加坡华族文化的五大因素

新加坡华族文化与其他华人社区的华族文化有何不同?新加坡华族文化的独特性,由新加坡历史长河里的五大因素形成。

英国殖民时期的生活

新加坡的文化基因是其历史的结果,组成部分不仅包含了莱佛士登陆后近200年,也包括了所有远渡重洋、落脚于新加坡,并将他们祖国文化基因带到此处的原素。我们虽为小小的一个城市国家,但这个文化大熔炉让我们拥有了庞大的基因组。——杨荣文, 2019年

新加坡丰富的文化基因组可以追溯到新加坡英国殖民地的历史。 出于经济利益考量,英国将新加坡打造成转口贸易的自由港,而强劲的劳动力需求,则吸引了来自不同背景的移民。与此同时,为了逃离中国内战与人口过多所造成的经济和政治动荡,许多华人离乡背井来新加坡谋生,为这个英国殖民地提供了大部分的廉价劳动力。

在英国人的治理下,宽松的制度让许多华人移民得以自由地过着自己的生活。他们甚至聚在一起成立了宗乡会馆和学校,以帮助社区里的同胞。

虽然英国殖民政府采取了宽松的治理方式,这段历史却对新加坡产生了深远的影响。当时,英国殖民政府强调的英语,如今成了新加坡的工作用语。他们推广的政治理念,如依法治国及议会民主制,都对新加坡的法律制度产生了重大影响。

就连现代新加坡的开埠者史丹福莱佛士爵士也在新加坡留下来了印记。他看到了新加坡的发展潜力,还构思出了以“培养华文与马来亚文学,以及改善群岛和周边国家的道德与知识”为宗旨的中心。这栋楼的基石于1823年6月5日垫下,并称为莱佛士书院。

东南亚的生活文化

我们的生活方式取决于我们的位置所在。无论是气候、自然资源或是原住民文化,都影响了我们的建筑、衣食住行,甚至是说话方式。

新加坡位于赤道附近,拥有热带气候和环境。由于我们一年四季都处于高温和高湿状态,于是人们为了避暑和避雨,建造了带有特别屋顶的亚答屋。我们也更偏向薄而清爽、透气性好的衣服。

新加坡的森林拥有丰富的天然资源,除了热带植物还有香料、木材、矿产和动物。常见于新加坡和该地区的植物与香料,如榴梿、椰子、班兰、火炬姜和尼巴棕榈,都是我们美食中的重要食材。

位于东南亚的新加坡也是马来群岛的一部分,而新加坡的马来原住民以各种南岛语系中的马来方言沟通。马来语是马来群岛的通用语言,后成为新加坡以及马来西亚(Bahasa Malaysia 马来西亚语)、文莱(Bahasa Kebangsaan 国语)和印度尼西亚(Bahasa Indonesia 印度尼西亚语)等国家语言的基础。

早期的华南移民

1819年,新加坡成了英国殖民地后,大量的华人移民纷至沓来,并在往后的几十年里形成了可观的数量。英国政府在1824年进行的一次人口普查显示,华人占10,683人口的31%。同年,英国与荷兰签订《伦敦条约》,结束了两国的纠纷。该条约鼓励英国投资马来亚的锡和橡胶产业,这些劳动密集工业吸引了来自中国和印度的劳工。

到了1860年代,华人移民已占新加坡人口的65%,成了最大族群。但是新加坡早期的华人移民来自何处?早期的移民主要有两种:来自中国南部(福建和广东)的移民和来自东南亚地区的移民。

其中,来自中国南部的华人移民占多数,他们多来自南方的沿海城市。据说,相对于居住在内陆城市的北方人而言,南方人更容易适应新的环境。当时,反清的太平天国运动和天灾,迫使许多华人移民前往新加坡追求更好的生活。这些移民多为未婚的男性,由于他们没有受过良好的教育,因此大多从事体力劳动的工作。

这些华人移民主要来自福建、潮州、广东、客家和海南的方言群,他们主要以自己的方言沟通,需要帮助时也会投靠自己的方言群或祖籍的宗乡会馆。这些会馆社团将华人移民凝聚起来,让他们延续自己的传统文化、信仰与习俗。

与直接从中国南部南下的移民不同,另一类早期移民来自东南亚,并在此定居了好几代人的时间。他们的祖先也来自中国南部,早在14世纪,他们就在马六甲、槟城、三宝垄、仰光和马尼拉等港口城市落地生根。

这类移民大多为男性商人,主要活动于中国与东南亚的贸易网络。他们与当地女子通婚,早已适应了当地的习俗和习惯。例如,土生华人以巴巴马来语,一种马来语和福建话混合而成的语言沟通,但他们也通晓欧洲语言。多语的优势让他们在欧洲人和当地人之间游刃有余。

中国政府山高皇帝远,而英国政府又采取宽松的治理方式,这样的环境让华人移民得以在新加坡延续自己原有的生活方式。中国南方华人继续构成海外华人的最大比例,到1950年代,南方华人甚至占了美国和东南亚华人的大多数。

随着对外交通越来越便捷,如今的移民趋势已有所不同。 现在,新加坡的移民更多元,他们可能来自北京、上海等大城市,也可能来自山东、四川和浙江等偏远地区。

多元种族、多元文化

据估计,1819年,岛上共有120名马来人和30名华人,而到了1871年,新加坡经济的爆炸性增长带动了人口增长。人口普查显示,华人、马来人、印度人、欧洲人、阿拉伯人、犹太人、暹罗人和其他少数族裔组成了将近100,000的人口。

尽管华族人口占了多数,但与其他华人地区(通非华族人口通常少于10%)相比,新加坡的非华族比例相对较高(约25%)。 这些非华族同胞背景各异,就连马来人的社区也是不尽相同的。该社区除了有马来原住民,也有印度尼西亚的爪哇岛、巴韦安岛,以及马来半岛等地的马来移民。

如今,新加坡仍然是个移民社会,人口甚至达到了史无前例的多样化。随着1990年代初至2010年移民政策的放开,来自西方国家和中国北方的新移民也越来越多。

随着人口越来越多样化,新加坡政府意识到社会和谐的重要性,因此多元种族成了官方政策的重要部分,同时新加坡同时也被打造成一个多元宗教的国家。2014年,皮尤研究中心的调查报告(Pew Research Survey)显示,新加坡是232*个国家中,宗教信仰最多元化的国家。

*包括国家及地区。

国际化的城市国家

“在新加坡,你可以低价购买,高价出售。 我们不生产咖啡,却是世界的主要咖啡豆供应商之一。我们不生产香料,但我们是东南亚香料贸易的中心。我们还是该地区瑞士手表的最大出口商。我们没有石油,但我们大量提炼石油,并且是石油和其他相关产品的交易中心。新加坡的贸易量是其国民生产总值的2.5倍。”——杨荣文, 1998年

新加坡这个弹丸小岛,天然资源有限。然而,早在新加坡还是“淡马锡”之时,它便是东南亚的贸易中心,并以出口三种产品(盔犀鸟的头盖骨、降真香和棉花)而闻名。

如此发展,都因为新加坡有着深水港的优势,以及它位于中印海上贸易路线的绝佳地理位置。根据17世纪初的《塞尔登中国地图》所记载,新加坡位于南方的主要航行路线上,这使新加坡受到了来自中国南部和东南亚文化的影响。

新加坡政府利用岛国的战略位置,延续了新加坡作为贸易枢纽的历史,对世界打开门户,好让新的思想、人才、商品和服务能不断涌入。

作为一个多元文化的社会, 新加坡如何塑造一个共同的身份认同?新加坡政府通过各种国家政策,一方面在人与人之间建立了共同点,另一方面又允许他们保留自己的文化根基。

所有公民,不分种族、言语、宗教,都享有相同的权利和责任、共享相同的国家象征,并团结于共同的信约。与此同时,人们可以自由地选择自己的宗教和延续自己的文化信仰。

英语作为新加坡工作的主要用语,是不同种族之间沟通的桥梁。新加坡的双语政策,确保国人学会自己母语(马来人的马来语、华人的华语、印度人的淡米尔语)的同时也通晓英语。学习母语可以强化国人的文化归属感,同时也灌输了相应的文化价值观。

最后,公共场所如政府学校、国民服役、政府组屋和小贩中心,除了为不同种族的国人提供了互动与交流的机会,也让他们建立共同的记忆。与此同时,新加坡的马来传统文化馆、印度文化中心和欧亚族裔传统文化中心等文化空间,则促进了民族和文化群体之间的相互了解。

新加坡通过一系列平衡而开放的政策,一方面保留了各族的文化特色,另一方面也能对外展现国人一致的身份认同形象,并在国际舞台上继续保持竞争力。

Find out more about five aspects that shaped Chinese Singaporean culture

What makes Chinese culture in Singapore different from other Chinese communities around the world? These five aspects from Singapore’s history give Chinese Singaporean culture its distinctiveness.

Life as a British Colony

“Singapore’s cultural genome is the result of its history, not just of the last two hundred years since Raffles, but also of the cultural genes which those who arrived on our shores brought with them from their ancestral homelands. We may be a small city-state but our genome is huge because of this infusion from all over the world.” – George Yeo, 2019

Singapore’s rich cultural genome can be traced back to when Singapore was a British colony. Due to economic interests, the British established Singapore as a free port for entrepot trade. This created a demand for labour that drew migrants of diverse backgrounds across the region. In order to escape economic and political turmoil in China caused by civil wars and overpopulation, many migrants left China for Singapore, forming a large part of the cheap labour that powered the colony.

Under the hands-off approach of governance by the British, many Chinese migrants were free to continue their way of life and they gathered to form their own clan associations and schools to assist people within their own communities.

Despite their hands-off approach, many legacies of the British government continue to have an impact on Singapore today. The British government emphasised the use of English language, now the working language of Singapore. They also introduced governing ideals such as the rule of law and the parliamentary democracy, all of which heavily influenced Singapore’s legal system.

Even Sir Stamford Raffles, the British founder of modern Singapore, left his personal mark on the colony. He saw Singapore’s potential as an intellectual hub and conceptualised a centre for “for the cultivation of Chinese and Malayan literature and for the moral and intellectual improvement of the Archipelago and the surrounding countries”. Eventually the foundation stone was laid on 5th June 1823 and this centre came to be known as Raffles Institution.

Life in Southeast Asia

Where we are shapes much of how we live. The climate, natural resources and the indigenous cultures affect our architecture as well as how we have come to dress, eat and speak.

Located near the equator, Singapore has the climate and environment of a tropical rainforest. This means year-round high temperature and humidity, leading people to build houses with attap roofs to insulate themselves from the heat and shelter from rain. More permeable and thinner clothing is also favoured as they do not trap heat.

Within Singapore’s forested regions, one would have access to natural resources like tropical plants, spices, wood, minerals and animals. The plants and spices available in Singapore and the region like durian, coconut, pandan, torch ginger and nipa palm, have become staple ingredients in our cuisine.

Being in Southeast Asia, Singapore is also part of the Malay Archipelago and its indigenous people, the Malays, spoke various dialects of Malay, an Austronesian language. Malay was the lingua franca across the archipelago and became the basis for the national language of Singapore as well as countries in the region like Malaysia (Bahasa Malaysia), Brunei (Bahasa Kebangsaan ‘national language’), and Indonesia (Bahasa Indonesia).

Early Migrants from Southern China

After Singapore was established as a British settlement in 1819, it attracted Chinese migrants who arrived in large numbers across subsequent decades. A census taken in 1824 by the British government showed that the Chinese made up 31% of a population of 10,683. This was also the year the British-Dutch skirmishes ended with the Treaty of London. The treaty encouraged the British to invest in Malaya’s labour-intensive tin and rubber industries which attracted labourers from China and India.

By the 1860s, Chinese migrants made up 65% of the population in Singapore, becoming the majority race. But where did Singapore’s early Chinese migrants come from? There were two main types of migrants, one that came from southern China (Fujian and Guangdong) and another from Southeast Asia.

The migrants from southern China made up the bulk of the influx of migrants. From coastal cities along southern China, these migrants were considered more adaptable and outward facing than the land-bound northern Chinese. Faced with the turmoils of the Taiping Rebellion (against the Manchu emperors) and natural disasters, many Chinese migrants left for Singapore in search of a better life. These migrants were mostly single males who were not well-educated, so they mostly worked as manual labourers.

Largely from the Hokkien, Teochew, Cantonese, Hakka and Hainanese dialect groups, these migrants spoke their own dialects and often relied on related clan associations for social support. Through these associations and communities, they were able to continue to uphold the values and practices from China.

Compared to migrants who came directly from southern China, the Chinese migrants who came from Southeast Asia (SEA) had already been in the region many generations earlier. Their ancestors, also originally from southern China, had settled in regional port cities like Malacca, Penanga, Semarang, Yangon and Manila from as early as the 14th century.

These migrants were mainly male traders who were part of a well-established trading network between China and SEA. They had long acclimatised to local customs and habits by marrying local women. For example, the Peranakan Chinese spoke Baba Malay, a hybrid of Malay and Hokkien, and were also often fluent in European languages. This multi-lingual edge allowed them to act as middlemen between Europeans and locals.

Out of reach of the Chinese government and under the hands-off approach of British governance, both types of southern Chinese migrants continued their own way of life in Singapore. The southern Chinese have continued to form the largest portion of Chinese who have migrated overseas, becoming the majority of Chinese in America and SEA by the 1950s.

However, the greater ease of travel has affected migration trends today. Singapore is now seeing a greater diversity of migrants who are just as likely to come from major cities such as Beijing and Shanghai, and rural regions like Shandong, Sichuan and Zhejiang.

Diverse Ethnicities, Multiple Cultures

In 1819, it was estimated that there were 120 Malays and 30 Chinese on the island. However, by 1871, the explosive growth of the colonial economy, led the local population to increase to just under 100,000 people made up of Chinese, Malays, Indians, Europeans, Arabs, Jews, Siamese and other minorities.

Despite having a Chinese-majority, Singapore has a relatively large proportion of non-Chinese (about 25%) compared to other Chinese-majority communities around the world (usually less than 10% non-Chinese). These non-Chinese came from diverse backgrounds and even the Malay communities were not homogenous. The community consisted of indigenous Malays as well as Malay migrants who came from the region including the Indonesian islands of Java and Bawean, as well as the Malayan peninsula.

Today, Singapore remains an immigrant society with a population that is more diverse than ever before. With the liberalisation of migration policies in the early 1990s till 2010, many new migrants are coming from Western countries and northern China.

Understanding the need to integrate and unify a diverse population, the Singapore government embraced multi-racialism as part of its official policy. And with that, Singapore has also embraced the multi-religious profile of its society. In fact, in 2014, Pew Research Survey found Singapore to be the country with highest religious diversity amongst the 232* surveyed countries.

*This number includes both countries and territories.

Both Nation and a Global City

“In Singapore, you buy cheapest and sell dearest. We do not grow coffee in Singapore, yet we are a major supplier of coffee beans in the world. We produce no spices, but we are the centre of the Southeast Asian spice trade. We are also the biggest exporter of Swiss watches in the region. We have no oil, but we refine a lot of it and we are the trading centre for oil and other related products. Singapore’s trade is 2.5 times its GNP.” – George Yeo, 1998

As a small island, Singapore has always had few natural resources. Yet, it was the centre of trade in Southeast Asia since its early days as Temasek, and was well-known then for three local exports – hornbill casques, lakawood (incense wood) and cotton.

This is due to its deep harbour and convenient location on maritime trade routes between China and India. According to the Selden Map of China, an early 17th century map, Singapore was on the main southern sailing route, exposing it to many influences both from southern China and around the region.

Singapore’s government continues to build on its strategic location and history as a trade hub, welcoming a constant flow of ideas, peoples, goods and services.

How does Singapore maintain a unified identity (in a nation) across such a diverse population (in a global city)? Through various national policies that create common ground between people, while allowing them to maintain their own cultural roots.

Transcending ethnicities, all citizens enjoy the same rights and responsibilities, regardless of race, language or religion, and are all unified under the same national symbols and pledge. At the same time, people are free to practise their own religious and cultural beliefs.

English is chosen as Singapore’s working language, bridging the communication gaps between ethnic groups. With the Bilingual Policy, English is learnt alongside a respective mother tongue (Malay, Mandarin and Tamil for the Malay, Chinese and Indian communities respectively). Learning the mother tongue strengthens a sense of cultural belonging and imparts cultural values.

Finally, common spaces and experiences such as national schools, national service, public housing and hawker centres create even more opportunities for people of different ethnicities to interact and bond. Meanwhile, cultural spaces like Malay Heritage Centre, Indian Heritage Centre and Eurasian Heritage Centre promote mutual understanding amongst ethnic and cultural groups.

Through a careful balance of policies that encourage openness, and those that promote a unified identity, Singapore continues to stay competitive on the world stage.