新加坡华族文化中心和陈国华将联合呈献 ;

新加坡华族文化中心与本地音乐家兼画家陈国华 联合呈献跨领域作品《e米距离》

新加坡华族文化中心与本地音乐家兼画家陈国华 联合呈献跨领域作品《e米距离》 - 新加坡华族文化中心

新加坡华族文化中心与本地音乐家兼画家陈国华 联合呈献跨领域作品《e米距离》

新闻稿

新加坡华族文化中心与本地音乐家兼画家陈国华
联合呈献跨领域作品《e米距离》

 

《e米距离》

交响组曲:音乐无边界

 

新加坡,2022年8月26日 —— 新加坡华族文化中心和陈国华将联合呈献《e米距离》音乐会。这场跨领域音乐会结合了陈国华的画作和音乐作品。

陈国华是本地知名音乐创作歌手和音乐剧导演。他也是扬名国际的作曲人,曾与多位亚洲巨星合作,如刘德华、黄莺莺和黄小琥。陈国华为多个国家的艺术节呈现作品,例如由他重新配乐的中国经典默剧《小玩意》,就曾到五个城市和艺术节巡演并获得热烈反响。陈国华早期也是游泳国手,为新加坡夺下多枚奖牌。

三年前,陈国华重拾毛笔,以画家和书法家身份重新出发。如今他再次当上作曲人,回归本地舞台。他上一次登上舞台的作品,是2012年新加坡艺术节的开幕之作、于滨海艺术中心音乐厅上演的《玉鸟飞》。 

而这一次,陈国华将与新加坡华族文化中心携手合作,把《e米距离》重新搬上舞台,由国际室内乐团演奏交响组曲。陈国华一直相信音乐是促进不同文化交流的桥梁,音乐会呈现的乐曲再次展示他对于“音乐无边界”的信念。音乐会也将融合美术元素——多幅由陈国华创作的画作将展现于舞台的大屏幕。

为这场音乐会演奏的乐团显现了陈国华对华族、印族、西洋、传统和现代乐器的热爱。这个精心组成的乐团所弹奏的乐器将包括各种华族乐器、钢琴、印度布拉鼓(tabla)、电子乐和大提琴。

音乐会也会有跨世代的成分——来自南洋艺术学院的在籍学生和知名乐手,以及拉萨尔艺术学院的校友会与陈国华同台演出。

出席2022年10月2日场次的观众可以在演出结束后参加对谈会。陈国华将与观众分享为这场音乐会创作音乐的过程和灵感,以及他的反思为何有助于他的创作过程。

 

《e米距离》详情

日期: 2022年9月30日至10月2日

地点:新加坡华族文化中心远东机构表演厅,九楼

票价:$28

语言:活动将以中英双语进行

优惠:学生、乐龄人士或购买10张套票可享有10%折扣

门票将从8月25日开售。请点击https://www.sistic.com.sg/events/email1022获取更多售票详情。

新加坡华族文化中心致力于制作具包容性的节目。我们非常乐意为本地的慈善机构,尤其是乐龄慈善团体,提供免费的现场或线上节目。欢迎联系events@singaporeccc.org.sg查询更多详情。

欲知更多关于《e米距离》的详情,请参考附录

 

###

 

附录

关于《e米距离

陈国华早在2003年创作《e米距离》时,世界正陷入混乱——伊拉克战争和沙斯疫情的爆发让未来充满危机和未知。今年,新冠疫情和乌克兰战乱再次让他看到与20年前非常相似的世界局势,并促使他再次呈现《e米距离》。

这场表演将带领观众展开一趟航空之旅。旅途从机场开始,往高空翱翔飞向一个后疫情的世界。表演借由这个机会,触发观众反思生活在这个动荡时代的意义,或者纯粹得到些许慰藉。

表演也加入了跨领域元素,譬如把来自原版演出的乐曲,与文字和视觉艺术作品相结合。而融合了书法技巧的画作,可以视为对乐曲的一种诠释,同时也可以作为舞台的背景。

音乐会的最大亮点即是由陈国华精心组成的乐团,反映了他对华族、印族、西洋、传统和现代乐器的热爱。乐团所演奏的乐器就包括二胡、琵琶、箫、笙、扬琴、中阮和华乐打击乐。由不同文化的乐器组成的合奏将为观众献上多首扣人心弦的曲目。

为创造更生动并带点俏皮的沉浸式体验,陈国华还在乐曲中融入多种音乐类别的元素,例如1970和1980年代流行歌曲、印象派作曲家德彪西和拉威尔的音乐、华族民谣和巴西吉他的交叉节奏。

SCCC

新加坡华族文化贡献奖

中心举办的年度奖项

艺术支持框架

与中心合作

SCCC
SCCC

捐献与义工

了解如何支持新加坡华族文化

Mark Chan Present a Cross-Disciplinary Production Email

Singapore Chinese Cultural Centre Partners Composer and Painter Mark Chan to Present a Cross-Disciplinary Production Email and Eternity

Singapore Chinese Cultural Centre Partners Composer and Painter Mark Chan to Present a Cross-Disciplinary Production Email and Eternity - Singapore Chinese Cultural Centre

Singapore Chinese Cultural Centre Partners Composer and Painter Mark Chan to Present a Cross-Disciplinary Production Email and Eternity

MEDIA RELEASE

Singapore Chinese Cultural Centre Partners Composer and Painter Mark Chan to Present a Cross-Disciplinary Production Email and Eternity

 

Email and Eternity  

Symphonic Suite: Music Without Borders

 

SINGAPORE, 26 August 2022 — Singapore Chinese Cultural Centre (SCCC) partners Mark Chan to present Email and Eternity – a cross-disciplinary concert combining his music and paintings. 

Mark Chan is a well-known local singer-songwriter, musical director and an internationally renowned composer who has worked with celebrities such as Andy Lau, Tracy Huang and Huang Xiaohu. He has helmed arts festival productions such as his hugely successful silent film scoring “Little Toys 小玩意” which toured to 5 cities and festivals. Mark is also a former national swimmer, a champion in his heyday.

After picking up the Chinese brush again three years ago and establishing himself as an ink painter and calligrapher, Chan is now making his return as a composer to the Singapore stage. His last work was “The Flight of the Jade Bird” which opened the 2012 Singapore Arts Festival at the Esplanade Concert Hall. 

For his return, he has partnered SCCC to reprise Email and Eternity – a full-length symphonic suite for World Chamber Orchestra – encapsulating Chan’s commitment to building bridges across cultures, with his trademark ‘Music Without Borders’, this time against an immersive backdrop of Chan’s paintings. 

The orchestra reflects Chan’s deep love for Chinese, Indian, Western, traditional and modern instruments. The carefully curated ensemble will combine Chinese orchestral instruments with the piano, tablas, electronics, and cello. 

Chan will be working cross-generationally on stage, with both established stars and students from the Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts, and alumni of LaSalle College of the Arts.

On  2 October 2022, audiences will have the opportunity to join a dialogue session with Chan, where he will share his musical composition process, the inspirations behind the performance, and how his reflections helped with the creative process.

 

Email and Eternity

Date: 30 September 2022 to 2 October 2022

Venue: Singapore Chinese Cultural Centre,Far East Organization Auditorium, Level 9

Language: Conducted in English and Mandarin

Ticket Price: $28

Discount: 10% for students and senior citizens and group buy of 10 tickets and above

Tickets will be on sale from 25 August onwards.  Please visit https://www.sistic.com.sg/events/email1022 for more ticketing information.

As part of its commitment to accessibility, SCCC is happy to provide complimentary access to its onsite and online programmes for local charities, especially those with a focus on seniors. Please contact events@singaporeccc.org.sg for more details.

Please refer to Annex for more information about Email and Eternity.

 

###

 

ANNEX

 

ABOUT EMAIL AND ETERNITY 

Email and Eternity was originally written in 2003 in response to the turmoils of Iraq and SARS, representing a time of global danger and uncertainty. This year, Chan saw similarities in the world affairs we have been experiencing such as the pandemic and invasion of Ukraine. 

During the performance, the audience will be taken on a journey from the airport, along a flight path through the skies in a post-pandemic world. It hopes to offer a sense of meaning, if not comfort, amid the uncertainties of today.

This performance will include a cross-disciplinary element through the inclusion of text and visual arts with the music score from the initial version. Chan’s paintings, which incorporates Chinese brush techniques, both interpret the performance’s musical composition, and serve as the stage backdrop.

The main feature of the performance is the carefully-curated orchestra, reflecting Chan’s deep love for Chinese, Indian, Western, traditional and modern instruments. The ensemble comprises Chinese orchestral instruments such as the erhu, pipa, dizi, xiao, sheng, yang qin, zhong ruan and Chinese percussion. These Chinese instruments are beautifully combined with Indian, Western, traditional and modern instruments like the piano, tablas, electronics and cello. 

To create an immersive experience for the audience, Chan playfully tweaks and combines melodies inspired from 1970’s and 80’s pop songs, the impressionism of Debussy and Ravel, Chinese folk songs, and the cross-rhythms of Brazilian guitar. 

SCCC

Singapore Chinese Cultural Contribution Awards

Learn about our annual awards

Arts Support Framework

Collaborate with us today

SCCC
SCCC

Donations & Volunteers

Find out how to support Chinese culture in Singapore