探索新加坡华人秉持的十个价值观

探索新加坡华人秉持的十个价值观 - 新加坡华族文化中心

探索新加坡华人秉持的十个价值观

从道不从君,从义不从父,人之大行也。

——荀子

何谓忠?又应忠于谁?忠——必须以自己为起点,忠于自己的原则与道德标准;做到这一点后,进而忠于亲友、忠于机构、忠于国家。

说到忠,许多人往往联想到“君要臣死,臣不得不死”的盲目追从。然而儒家的忠却是灵活而因时制宜的。只要忠于初心,灵活应对未尝不可。例如三国时期,蜀国大将关羽向敌人曹操投降,以保全结拜兄弟刘备的妻子。

来个更贴近本地的例子,二战时期,阿南赛迪中尉在日本入侵新加坡时英勇奋战。他在巴西班让战役中与日军作战,最终被俘,并在刺刀和焚烧的酷刑下痛苦地死去。阿南赛迪中尉对家国的忠诚源于这句马来座右铭:piar putih tulang, jangan putih mata(宁死不屈)。

百善孝为先。

——王永彬

孝,是孩子对父母感恩的体现。孝道是华族文化根深蒂固的传统价值观,也是古代社会所推行的纲常伦理,因此,许多著作都以孝道为主题,其中以《二十四孝》最为著名。该书于元朝编纂,大部分故事都来自西汉的《孝子传》。虎豹别墅的雕像展区里,就有不少二十四孝故事的场景,供人观赏。

汉代有一个名叫蔡顺的男童,自小与母亲相依为命。有一天,蔡顺在林中拾一些桑果去奉养母亲。蔡顺把两个篮子装满后,便踏上归途,却在途中遭三名强盗伏击。强盗见蔡顺身无分文,便把他揍了一顿,但在离开之前,强盗看见他把桑果按照颜色分开装在两个不同的篮子里,便好奇地问他原因。蔡顺回答说,红色桑果还没熟,味道酸,留给自己;深色的桑果是成熟的,味道甜,回去给母亲吃。强盗受蔡顺的孝心打动,就拿出了一些米和肉给他回家孝顺母亲。

在另一则故事里,目莲因修行得了神通,到地狱见到饱受饿鬼之苦的母亲。目莲是释迦摩尼佛的弟子,祈请佛陀解说母亲为何受饿鬼之苦。佛陀告知目莲,他的母亲因生前的罪孽,受困于饿鬼道,此劫难皆是因果。目莲为了救母,于农历七月十五日建盂兰盆会,借十方僧众之力助母亲脱离饿鬼之苦。最后,目莲的母亲成功脱离苦境,投生天界。如今,农历七月有了“鬼月”之称,也是人们庆中元的月份。

己所不欲,勿施于人。

——孔子

“仁者,人也”,所以仁也是人之所以为人的道德标准,更是人与人之间的相互关爱。仁,就是推己及人,也是儒家思想的核心。在儒家系统中,仁是与生俱来的内在特质,而不是后天学习或外在加于人的观念。

唐太宗李世民以仁治天下,开创了贞观之治。李世民在位期间,曾遣散多名宫女,特允她们还乡成亲。贞观二年,李世民开仓赈济灾民,还拿出御府金帛,为灾民赎回卖出子女。贞观十九年,大唐讨伐高句丽之战,在目睹了士兵阵亡后,李世民不仅为他们痛苦,还亲自安葬他们。

在华族文化中,爱既慈爱。爱,除了是人与人之间的情感,也代表了自我的关爱。这些观念受到儒释道的影响。佛教以大爱为主,儒家的五伦也以爱为关系的基础,而道家则认为,爱己方能爱人。

19世纪中叶的新加坡,老虎猖獗,1860年代就有350多人丧生。传说,一个名叫洪的男子在淡滨尼遇到了一只饥饿的老虎。洪乞求老虎放过他,并答应为老虎献上肉以作为回报,老虎同意了。洪去集市买肉的时候,老虎在村子入口处等他。但是,在看到老虎后,村民发起了攻击,将其追赶回树林。洪带着肉回到了入口处,却找不到老虎,于是他走到森林里去了。最后,他找到了老虎,却发现老虎的一只腿瘸了。洪决定照顾老虎,替他养伤,这个举动让老虎深受感动。从此,老虎成了洪的坐骑,而村民们很少再受到老虎攻击。洪死后,入了道教的仙籍,被奉为洪仙大帝。

礼,可以指礼仪,但是又超乎了宗教礼仪的范围。儒家的礼,指的是不同场合应有的礼节,包括茶道的礼仪与祭拜祖先的礼仪。这些仪式所带来的仪式感,时刻提醒着人们美德与价值观的重要性。

中元节期间,人们在街边烧冥纸、供祭品就是一个例子。尽管对某些人来说,这样的行为纯属迷信,但这仍是一种体现了孝道的礼仪。生者为逝者焚烧祭品,不仅表达了对逝者的怀念,也象征着人与人之间的关爱。

义,可以理解为正义,而正义与道德主导着我们的言行举止。义也包括了明辨是非、见义勇为。因此,义与忠孝仁爱等价值观是密不可分的。

关羽是三国时期的大将,形象忠义勇武,因此死后被尊奉为战神。赤壁一战,关羽的敌人曹操兵败如山倒,仓促逃离。不料,关羽已在路上埋伏。虽然关羽有机会杀了曹操,但是他念在过去曹操厚待自己的情份上,不顾军令放了他。虽然罔顾军令是死罪,但是关羽义重如山,最后还是把曹操给放了。

其身正,不令而行;其身不正,虽令不从。

—— 孔子

廉,指的是领导者、执政者与公务员的清廉与正直。担任领导职务的人要树立榜样,这一点很重要。当一个人以身作则时,其余的人就会效法。

诸葛亮是三国时期蜀汉的丞相,他一生鞠躬尽瘁、死而后已,是忠义仁爱的代表。由始至终,诸葛亮都忠于蜀国,是一位以身作则的正直官员。诸葛亮从不被人收买,就连曹操答应给他荣华富贵,他也没有投奔曹操。诸葛亮虽总揽朝政却不敛财,甚至与同僚共享富贵。

新加坡政府不是你们可以随便买卖的。

——李光耀

1960年,美国中央情报局的特工试图收买新加坡的情报人员,以获取机密信息。新加坡的官员拒绝了,并向上级报告了这一事件,导致中情局的特工被捕。1965年,当时的新加坡总理李光耀宣布,只有美国政府致函道歉,并为新加坡的工业发展提供3,300万新元的资金,他才会释放被俘的特工。消息传到华盛顿,美国国务院否认李光耀的指控,于是李光耀马上公开机密文件,以保护新加坡的声誉。最终,美国中情局为他们的行为公开道歉。

礼义廉耻,国之四维。

——管仲

知耻,是所有道德价值观的基础。“人之有所不为,皆赖有耻心”,知耻,才会远离不正当的行为,追求正义与正直,从而树立正确的道德观。所谓“知耻近乎勇”,知耻让人们鼓起勇气纠正自己的不当行为。因此,知耻是我们的道德准则,让我们明辨是非,才会有所为,有所不为。

越王勾践被吴军打败后,成了吴王夫差的俘虏。勾践自知愧对越国的百姓,所以在吴国的这段期间,勾践忍辱负重,任劳任怨地做着奴仆的工作,有望日后能卷土重来,一雪前耻。后来,夫差认为勾践真心归顺了他,就放勾践回国。勾践回国后,在自己的屋里挂了一只苦胆,每顿饭都要尝尝苦味,以提醒自己在吴国所受的苦难和耻辱。10年后,勾践再次伐吴,最后成功灭掉吴国,而夫差也自刎而死。

餐馆18厨师(Eighteen Chefs)的创办人司徒保华,曾因染毒而进出监狱,但这样的人生经历却让他体会到了前囚犯所面对的歧视与困难。于是,他立志要帮助前囚犯 “重新站起来,携手与他们同行,把他们带入另一个人生阶段”。目前,司徒保华所聘请的员工里,超过一半是前囚犯。

奢则不孙,俭则固。与其不孙也,宁固。

——孔子

俭,是儒释道所倡导的美德。崇尚节俭,是为了能满足于充实而简单的生活,才不会沉溺于物质上的享受。儒家和道家都提倡以俭治国,以免国家超支而殃及老百姓,使他们受到经济与劳力上的剥削。佛教则认为,物质欲望是一切苦的根源。如今,节俭仍然受到华人社会的推崇,在2017年,新加坡和中国分别是全球储蓄率的第二和第三高的国家。

有一次,一个仆人问开国皇帝宋太祖,是否要用黄金装饰轿子。宋太祖回答说,这样做很容易,但他必须谨记,国家的财富皆来自老百姓的辛勤劳动,怎能乱花?所以,他情愿过得节俭一点。还有一次,公主衣贴翠羽入宫,宋太祖见了,劝她应该穿得简朴一点,并解释道,皇家的人更应该以身作则,生活节俭。身穿昂贵的衣服只会鼓励其他人争相仿效,如此一来,就会助长奢侈的歪风。

节俭、勤奋、自由的企业和审慎的经营……这些基本原则构成了新加坡竞争的优势和成功的基石。

——李显龙

给吴庆瑞夫人的慰问信里,李显龙总理赞扬吴庆瑞博士的节俭。吴庆瑞博士勤俭有道,使新加坡的国库得以持续增长,国家的经济才能稳健发展。

譬如为山,未成一篑,止,吾止也;譬如平地,虽覆一篑,进,吾往也。

——孔子

毅,是道家和儒家所倡导的美德。毅,除了不半途而废,还要抱着破釜沉舟的决心,以实现自己的目标。

道家典籍《列子》里,有一则《愚公移山》故事。从前,有个名叫愚公的老人,与家人住在山的正对面。他们要进城,就必须攀越两座山才能到达,十分费劲。有一天,愚公决定和家人把这两座山挖平,于是他们上山、凿石、挖土,日复一日地辛勤劳作。智叟讥笑愚公,说他不自量力。但是愚公不仅没有动摇,还反驳道自己就算百年归寿,还有他子孙在,一代接着一代,山总有挖平的一天。愚公的坚持,感动了天帝,天帝于是派了两个神将那两座山移走。

只要我不放弃,什么都能做得到。

——朱永辉

2012年,一艘船上发生事故,海军人员朱永辉失去了双腿和左臂。尽管伤势严重,朱永辉还是很快恢复了平静。就连国防部长黄永宏,也对他留下深刻的印象,他认为朱永辉能迅速康复,须归功于“他内心的特殊力量”。朱永辉的毅力,让他代表新加坡参加了东盟残疾人运动会的乒乓球比赛。后来,他还回到海军部队工作。

Deep-dive into ten values treasured by the Chinese

忠 zhong (Loyalty)

ollow the way and not the ruler, follow righteousness and not the father.

– Xunzi 荀子

What can we pledge loyalty to? It starts with the self – being true to the principles that you choose to live by. Beyond that, loyalty can be pledged to social circles like family and friends, as well as larger entities like organisations and the state.

When we think of loyalty, we often picture an unyielding allegiance. However, Confucianism suggests that loyalty can be flexible – reacting to circumstances but staying true to one’s intentions. Guan Yu 关羽, a general during the Three Kingdoms era, surrendered to his enemy, Cao Cao 曹操, to protect the wives of Liu Bei 刘备, his sworn brother and leader.

Closer to home, Lieutenant Adnan Saidi displayed fierce loyalty during the Japanese invasion of Singapore. Fighting the Japanese forces at the Battle for Pasir Panjang, Adnan was eventually captured and suffered a painful death through bayonetting and burning. Adnan’s loyalty to his home stemmed from his strong belief in the Malay motto: piar putih tulang, jangan putih mata – death before dishonour.

孝 xiao (Filial piety)

“Of all virtues, filial piety is most important.”

– Wang Yongbin 王永彬

Filial piety is a child’s expression of gratitude towards his parents. A deeply embedded norm in Chinese culture, countless classics expound the concept of filial piety with the most famous being The Twenty-four Paragons of Filial Piety 二十四孝. Compiled in the Yuan Dynasty, the book derived most of its stories from the Western Han copy of Biographies of Filial Persons 孝子传. These stories have also been immortalised in a gallery at Haw Par Villa.

During the Han Dynasty, a boy named Cai Shun 蔡顺 lived with his mother. One day, Cai entered the woods to collect mulberries for food. Finally, with two full baskets, he decided to head home. However, on the way home, he was ambushed by three robbers. Frustrated that Cai had nothing valuable to offer, the robbers beat him up. Before leaving, the robbers got curious and asked Cai why he had separated the red mulberries from the dark blue ones. Cai explained that the sour red mulberries were for himself, while the sweet dark blue ones were for his mother. Touched by his filial piety, the robbers gave some rice and meat to Cai.

In another story, Mu Lian 目莲, whilst meditating, saw his deceased mother suffering in hell as a hungry ghost. As Shakyamuni Buddha’s 释迦摩尼佛 disciple, Mu Lian asked him for advice and learnt that his mother was suffering due to an accumulation of bad karma from greed and indulgence. To save his mother, he asked many monks to help chant mantras on the 15th day of the 7th lunar month. Through Mu Lian’s perseverance, his mother was eventually reborn in the heavenly realm. The 7th month in the lunar calendar is now synonymous with the celebration of the Hungry Ghost Festival.

仁 ren (Kindness)

What you do not want done to yourself, do not do to others.

– Confucius 孔子

Also known as “humanness”, ren refers to the ideal of being human and how one should relate to others. The concept of ren is strongly related to empathy and is a key mantra of Confucianism. Confucius believed that renis an innate trait and not something that can be learnt.

Ren guided much of Tang Emperor Li Shimin’s 李世民 policies. During his reign, he reduced the quota for palace maids, and allowed them to return home and seek marriage. In his second year of reign, Li opened the imperial treasury to redeem the lives of children who sold themselves to pay for their parents’ burial during a drought. And in the 19th year of his reign, after witnessing the death of his soldiers during the conquest of Goryeo (a Korean kingdom), he wept and personally performed the funeral rite for the deceased.

爱 ai (Love)

In Chinese culture, there is compassion, love between relationships as well as self-love. These concepts are influenced by Buddhism, Confucianism and Taoism. Buddhism focuses on universal love and Confucianism prioritises love through the five cardinal relationships, while Taoism believes that one has to first master self-love before extending love to others.

In the mid-19th century, tiger attacks were rampant in Singapore and more than 350 lives were lost in the 1860s. Legend has it that a man named Hong 洪 encountered a hungry tiger in Tampines. Hong begged the tiger to spare him and promised to offer meat in return. The tiger agreed and waited for him near the village entrance as Hong went to the market to purchase meat. However, upon seeing the tiger, the villagers attacked it and chased it back into the woods. Hong returned with the meat but could not find the tiger, so he went into the woods to look for it. Finally, he found the tiger injured and limping with only three legs. Hong decided to care for it and his actions touched the tiger. It was said that he could even be seen riding the tiger and his love for the tiger significantly reduced tiger attacks in the area.  After his death, he was deified under Daoist tradition as Hongxian Dadi 洪仙大帝 .

礼 li (Considerate behaviour)

Li, can be translated as rites, and in this context is not limited to religious rituals. Confucian rites refer to etiquette observed during different occasions and they range from tea rites to ancestral worship. These rites were created to remind us of the importance of certain virtues and values.

For example, while the act of burning incense papers and placing food offerings along the streets during the Zhongyuan Festival may be seen as superstitious, it is a rite that contains values of filial piety, humanness, and love. It is how the living share material comfort with the deceased.

义 yi (Righteousness)

Yi, can be understood as righteousness, where actions are guided by justice and morality. It is the ability to differentiate right from wrong and to follow through with necessary actions. Therefore, yi is closely linked to many values related to moral goodness like humanness, loyalty, filial piety, integrity and love.

Guan Yu 关羽, a general during the Three Kingdoms era, now deified as the Deity of War, truly embodied righteousness. During the War at Red Cliff, Guan’s enemy Cao Cao 曹操 suffered heavy losses and retreated hastily. Although Guan ambushed Cao and had the chance to kill him, he chose not to. His decision not to kill Cao was punishable by death as it was against his military obligations. However, he stuck by his decision as he was once indebted to Cao and wanted to repay the debt.

廉 lian (Integrity)

When a ruler’s personal conduct is correct, his government is effective without giving orders. If his personal conduct is not correct, even he may give orders, but they will not be followed.

– Confucius 孔子

Lian refers to the upright personal conduct of leaders and civil servants. It is important for people in leadership positions to be role models. It is believed that when one leads by example, the rest will follow.

Zhuge Liang 诸葛亮, the famous advisor of the Kingdom Shu, during the Three Kingdoms era, exemplified integrity amongst other values like loyalty, righteousness and humanness. He was loyal to the Kingdom Shu till his very last breath, and was an upright official who led by example. Zhuge refused all forms of bribery and turned down Cao Cao’s (the enemy leader) offer of a life of luxury. After gaining great wealth through his meritorious deeds, Zhuge always shared what he had with his surviving comrades.

You do not buy or sell the government.

– Lee Kuan Yew 李光耀

In 1960, agents from the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) in the United States (US) tried to buy classified information from a Singaporean intelligence officer. The officer refused and reported the incident to his superior, leading to the arrest of the CIA agents. In 1965, then Prime Minister of Singapore, Lee Kuan Yew, declared he would release the captured agents only under the condition of an apology letter from the US government, along with SGD 33 million for Singapore’s industrial development. However, Washington rejected claims of espionage, leading Lee to open classified files in a drastic move to protect Singapore’s reputation. Eventually, the CIA openly apologised for their actions.

耻 chi (Sense of shame)

Li, yi, lian, chi, form the four pillars of a nation. – Guan Zhong 管仲

A sense of shame forms the foundation of all moral values. In order to avoid shame, one looks to righteousness and integrity, leading to morality. Through a strong moral conviction, one can then perform li well. Understanding shame also encourages one to muster the courage needed to rectify his wrongdoings. Shame becomes a moral compass that prevents people from wrongful behaviour.

The King Goujian 勾践 of Yue was captured by the King Fuchai 夫差 of Wu, after Yue’s defeat. Goujian was demoted to a labourer for Wu, and the shame of defeat followed him. Goujian understood that he had let down his fellow Yue people and was determined to revive his kingdom’s glory. For 10 years, he tasted the bitterness of a gall bladder every day to remind himself of the shame. Through perseverance and discipline, Goujian successfully restored Yue and defeated Wu, with Fuchai ending his own life.

Benny Se Teo, founder of Eighteen Chefs Restaurant, was once a drug abuser. His frequent terms in prisons and rehabilitation centres made him see how society condemned ex-convicts. Understanding the shame experienced by ex-convicts, he pledged to “stand up and hold another ex-offender’s hand and help them walk to the next level.” Currently, nearly half of his employees have a criminal record.

俭 jian (Thriftiness)

He who will not economise will have to agonise.

– Confucius 孔子

Thrift is a value advocated by Confucianism, Taoism and Buddhism. The intent behind thrift is to live a content and simple life, and avoid the ills of materialism. Confucianism and Taoism support governmental thrift, since over-spending relates to exploitation of the people in taxes and labour. Buddhism views material desires as the root of human suffering. Thrift continues to be cherished by most Chinese-majority societies and in 2017, Singapore and China were ranked second and third for the world’s highest savings rates.

Once, a servant asked the founding Emperor of Song Dynasty if he wanted to decorate his sedan with gold. Song Taizu 宋太祖 replied that it would be easy for him to do so but he had to remind himself that the country’s wealth came from the hard work of his people, and preferred to be thrifty instead. On another occasion, the princess wore an elegant dress designed with lots of feathers. Instead of complimenting her, Taizu advised her to dress simply. He explained that they should set an example as royalty and live a life of thrift. Wearing expensive clothing would only encourage the masses to do the same, leading to unnecessary spending on luxurious goods.

The fundamental tenets of thrift and hard work, free enterprise and prudent finance… form the bedrock of Singapore’s competitive strengths and success. – Lee Hsien Loong

In his condolence letter to the family of the late Dr Goh Keng Swee, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong commended Dr Goh for his thriftiness. Dr Goh’s sharp eye on spending enabled Singapore’s wealth to grow which formed a stable basis for her economic development.

毅 yi (Perseverance)

It does not matter how slowly you go, as long as you do not stop.

– Confucius 孔子

Perseverance is a common value advocated by Taoism and Confucianism. It discourages one from giving up halfway. To persevere means to have the resolution to overcome difficulties and distractions in order to achieve one’s goals.

According to Taoist text Liezi 列子, there was once an old man named Yu Gong 愚公 who lived in the countryside with his family. Their journey to town was a long one because two mountains obstructed their path. One day, Yu Gong and his family decided to remove the two mountains. So, they dug and moved the soil every day without fail. Yu Gong’s actions drew laughter from a wise man Zhi Sou 智叟, who commented that his attempt was like an ant trying to overthrow a tree. However, Yu Gong remained unfazed, rebutting that even if he passed on, future generations would continue to dig until the mountains were cleared. His perseverance touched the heavens, and the mountains were then removed by two heavenly giants.

If I don’t give up, I will fulfil anything that I want.

– Jason Chee

In an accident on board a ship in 2012, naval soldier Jason lost both his legs and left arm. Despite the severity of his injuries, Jason was able to recover emotionally fairly quickly. Even Defence Minister Ng Eng Hen was impressed, commenting that his speedy recovery was due to “something special within him”. His perseverance led him to represent Singapore in table tennis at the ASEAN Para Games. Eventually, he also returned to serve the Navy.